General Information
Mug Ruce Brochure (includes NOR & SI)
Schedule of Events
Race Registration
Additional Information


The Mug Race is the world's longest river race, a challenging one-way course along the beautiful St. Johns River. The race begins in Palatka, FL and ends in Jacksonville just south of the Buckman I-295 Bridge. All entrants must have mast heights no greater than 44 feet in order to clear the Shands Bridge in Green Cove Springs. The race uses a Pursuit Start where each boat has a start time based on their rating. In essence, slower boats have a head start with the faster boats chasing them, all pursuing to cross the finish line first! There are more than 80 class trophies that will be awarded based on boat class and different categories including first all female crew to finish, first dinghy monohull to finish, and even one for the last boat to finish.

The 61st Mug Race will be held on May 3rd, 2014.


The full 61st Annual Mug Race brochure is available for download by clicking on the brochure cover image below. The brochure includes both the Notice of Race and the Sailing Instructions. Please be patient as it is a large file and may take a while to load.


Shuttle Bus Schedule

Date   From RC to Palatka       From Palatka to RC    
  May 2nd  
   1st Bus: 5:30pm
   2nd Bus: 8:30pm
   One Bus: 7:00pm
May 3rd
   1st Bus: 5:45am
   Last Bus: 9:00pm
   No Shuttle Bus


Early registration is available online by clicking on the link below or by completing the registration form found in the brochure and mailing it to the Rudder Club office postmarked no later than April 19th. A $20 discount is available if registration is completed online by April 27th, mail-in registrations will not be eligible for the registration discount. Registration will also be available at the Rudder Club Mug Race Registration party on April 19th, and late registration will be available on May 2nd at the Quality Inn Palatka from 4:00pm - 6:00pm. Please refer to the 61st Mug Race brochure for details.

The Mug Race Online Registration
Click here to view registered participants


If you are not registering for the Mug Race, but wish to purchase t-shirts, dinner tickets, shuttle tickets, etc. Click Here!

If you need crew, or want to crew, for the Mug Race, Click Here!

Contact Us

8533 Malaga Avenue
Jacksonville, FL 32244
904 264-4094
email the office

Office Hours:
Tuesday - Friday
9 am - 1:30 pm

Bar Hours:
Saturday 12 - 6 pm
Sunday 1 - 5 pm

Mug Race Sponsors